My Books

Old Mac – Now You See Him, Now You Don’t

Self-promotion is not something I enjoy. That, to me, is the worst part of being an author. I love sharing my work, but I don’t enjoy promoting it. Any of you out there feel the same? I published this book almost a year ago, yet I have done almost nothing to promote it. It isn’t that I don’t think it’s any good. If I felt that way, I wouldn’t have published it. My problem is more that promotion feels so much like bragging; that bothers me. Also, I don’t have much of a competitive spirit. I don’t just want success for myself, I want it for all of you as well!

Old Mac – Now You See Him, Now You Don’t, my first book, is now available in paperback. In my meager attempt to promote the book, which I more joyfully think of as sharing my work, I am posting this link. Old Mac, which is a mystery, would make a great Christmas gift for a middle-grade or middle-school young person between the ages of 9 and 14.

Old Mac - Now You See Him, Now You Don't | Toni Umbarger | Children's Mystery

Old Mac Waverly is a carefree, somewhat absent-minded, science-obsessed inventor.  He has an uncanny knack for putting himself in harm’s way whenever he plunges into creative mode.  The people of his hometown of Sunflower, in order to prevent Old Mac from potential danger, have set up a scheduled system to keep an eye on him – the Old Mac Watch.  When this most beloved citizen disappears, twelve-year-old Ben Lewis and his deputy sheriff father lead the baffling, week-long search to find him.  For Ben, this offers an opportunity to spend precious time bonding with his father.  In the process of investigating Old Mac’s disappearance, Ben learns some valuable lessons about responsibility, friendship, and respect.

You can order a sample section of the book on Kindle or read a few sample pages on Amazon. Please check out Old Mac and let me know what you think. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

